Get to Know Your Hosts – Dianne Donovan

August 26, 2013 at 4:57 pm Leave a comment

Curious about what Dianne Donovan, a beloved KMFA daytime announcer and producer of “Classical Austin” on Sunday mornings at 11:00 a.m. and Wednesday nights at 9:00 p.m., has been up to? We had a chat to find out.

kmfa 006You are originally from Canada – how did you end up in Austin?
For the summers – ha! Seriously, it may sound corny but it was good old fashioned “love”. I fell in love with a man I’d first met in Edmonton, Alberta (where I was living at the time). I had just come back from Austin, having been the “girl singer” in “A Tribute to Harry James” pops concert with the Austin Symphony (in 1992!); I couldn’t help but notice that the gent had a Texas accent. He was a touring musician from Austin. We kept in touch and 7 years later, he contacted me again, that’s when friendship turned to love. My husband, guitarist, Mitch Watkins and I have been married now for 12+ years (even I’m starting to take us seriously).

What are some of your hobbies outside of classical music?

Singing (more than a hobby), reading, walking, exercise, cooking (creating recipes), yoga, languages (I try to speak in several, including, English, ha ha!), writing music and bad poetry. I’m interested in reconnecting with theater (my major in high school and at one of the colleges I attended) – I love many other types of music, jazz, good pop like Steely Dan, Hall and Oats, and soul like Stevie Wonder, Al Green, Marvin Gaye and more.

What book are you currently reading?

I just finished a book by my sister, Rita Donovan – her latest novel (her seventh), Maura Quelle. Now I am reading The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells, by Andrew Sean Greer and there are some interesting similarities between the books. Both books weave in and out of time periods in different ways and both question who we are, how context (time, place, society) affects us, and how we are remembered. Plus, to my mind, the novels confirm my belief that every human being has a fascinating story.

You were just on vacation – where did you go and what did you do?  

I was in Mallorca, Spain for eight glorious days! It was the first real vacation my husband and I have had together in years. We swam every day in the cove by the hotel, walked and walked; went with friends to the Fundació Pilar y Joan Miró (museum and home of the great artist) and to Valldemossa (where Chopin spent part of a winter with author, Georges Sand), where we heard a brief all-Chopin concert. I rested, read, and laughed! I ate great food and sipped Cava.  I also listened to many kinds of music and danced in my room and on my balcony, for who knows if this opportunity will ever come again?

Entry filed under: KMFA announcers/hosts. Tags: .

From the General Manager – “Listen Local” Fall Into Music Instrument Drive

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Hours & Info

512 - 476 - 5632
Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Follow KMFA on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

